Fancy that, a Blogger Recognition Award!

Good morning feminists and friends!

Screen Shot 2017-07-13 at 09.11.13

Although I’ve only been around a short time, I am very excited to say I’ve been nominated for a Blogger Recognition Award! Thanks so much to Raimey of Author Raimey Gallant for the nomination! Raimey’s blog provides the ultimate tool box for beginner writers and bloggers, so helpful for us folks just starting out. Check it out at the link!

So the rules state I am to give an explanation of how I started blogging, and give two pieces of advice for new bloggers.

I began blogging as a means of venting my frustrations. This spring I was getting hit from all angles with insensitivity, chauvinism, and overall anti-feminist sentiments, some seen from a distance, others directed at me. It was right around International Women’s Day, and I had just come off of working on a photo campaign called Law Needs Feminism Because… when some very good friends (Hi, Morgan and Keara!) encouraged me to write about my frustrations, if for no other reason than to make myself feel better. With the support of so many friends, I continued to write, just for me. As it turns out, people read it. I very honestly never thought people would actually read my writing, let alone recognize it as an achievement. I am truly blown away.

As for the advice, I am new myself and am absolutely still learning. One piece of advice I would give is to not censor yourself based on what people might think. A lot of people I know personally read my blog, including people I see every day at school, and my own mother. Although writing about general feminist issues was no big deal, I was hesitant to write the personal pieces, particularly Thick Girls, Thick Skin. I was afraid to be looked at differently, but I pushed through and told myself that if my true story could help at least one person know that they are not alone, it was worth it. The second piece of advice is to write about something that sparks a fire inside you; the passion will bleed through the screen and your writing will be better simply because you care.

I am also supposed to nominate 15 other blogs for this award, but because I don’t know many, I will only nominate one.

Bamoni of BamoniKash – Embrace Your Journey — Bamoni explores many personal journeys she has endured, with writing that is strong and emotive. From fitness, to fashion, to travel and self discovery, Bamoni is your gal. Bamoni, should you choose to accept it, the rules are below.

Blogger Recognition Award Rules and Nominees:
Rule 1: Thank the blogger who nominated you and provide a link to their blog.
Rule 2: Write a post to show your award.
Rule 3: Give a brief story of how your blog started.
Rule 4: Give two pieces of advice to new bloggers.
Rule 5: Select 15 other bloggers you want to give this award to.
Rule 6: Comment on each blog and let them know you have nominated them and provide the link to the post you created.

Once again, thank you Raimey for the nomination. I am truly humbled.

– D

1 thought on “Fancy that, a Blogger Recognition Award!”

Leave a Reply

